Home » Uncategorized » My Annual Rant is No Longer Needed

My Annual Rant is No Longer Needed

Yesterday while watching the Packers tromp the Cowboys, I pondered whether or not I should send an e-mail to the sponsors of the Fox Sports broadcast stating that I would boycott their products as long as Joe Buck (someone please tell him that Movember is over and that the Miami Vice look went out of style when the show was cancelled in 1989) and Troy Aikman continue to commentate the Packer games. They’re the worst game callers ever, and I already signed the Change.org petition.

Unfortunately as I paid attention to a few of the commercials, I realized that I can’t boycott products I have no desire to purchase. Bud Lite and Miller Lite? No thank you, drinking that swill is like making love in a canoe (Google it if you don’t get the joke). I don’t care how kewl it looks, I will not play Mobile Strike on my smartphone or tablet, and especially not with Arnold peddling it.

Then we come to the commercials for jewelry and luxury cars. This time of year, I typically blog about how these industries sell nothing in which I am interested, even if I could afford their wares. The only bauble that came close is the “Ever Us” diamond ring by Kay Jewelers, but I told the husband that he already gave me a ring with two diamonds (additionally, I think a ring with diamonds around the circumference would be painful to wear). The World’s Greatest Husband reminded me that the price of my engagement ring was less than a hundred dollars (also circa 1989). I reminded him that the cost of the ring isn’t important; the man who gave it to me is.

Brian received my wish list a couple of weeks ago because I felt the need to pare down my lists on Think Geek, Amazon, our FLCS, and the Packers Pro Shop (which continues to ignore women in my size, thus my current wish list there is nada). Since then, I’ve added a dress or two from Hot Topic, which has jumped on the fandom bandwagon of some movie being released on Friday. I don’t know anything about that. ;}

More on geekdom in a later entry…

Pog ma thoin!
-Lori

WGH: “You change your mind a lot.”
Me: “Duh! I’m a woman; it’s my divine right to change my mind.”

Leave a comment