Home » Uncategorized » Party Planning

Party Planning

This Saturday is the Annual Independence Day Party at Castle Curley. Even though I’ve done very little prep work for it, about fifteen years’ experience has shown that I could run this party in my sleep. I’m not worried; I expect to have a lovely time; and Brian, Prince Mekhi and I are planning on going somewhere fun on Sunday.

Next year’s party, however, will be quite different. In 2016, Brian (aka the World’s Greatest Husband (WGH)) and I will celebrate our silver wedding anniversary: 25 years of wedded bliss. The WGH and I want to have a big party, inviting as many people as possible, especially those from our wedding. Planning more than a year in advance means I won’t have to worry about the cost too much because we can save up money between now and then. No, the big problem is the party/wedding anniversary industry.

Google “Silver 25th Anniversary” and you will find a lot of beautiful, elegant crap; especially if you click on “Images.” Then ask yourself: does this reflect Brian and Lori? The answer is a roaring “NO!” When we’ve actually done something special for our wedding anniversaries in years prior (typically, Thanksgiving is a more important holiday at Castle Curley), it’s been going to a “Weird Al” Yankovic concert for our third anniversary; going to a Packers Tailgate Party for our fifteenth anniversary; or going to the Parthenon on State Street for gyros on any anniversary because we did that late on our wedding night after we checked in to our hotel. We had a party for our tenth anniversary at a park shelter in Madison, but otherwise, we have celebrated our anniversary in non-traditional ways.

As I started thinking of our Silver Party and our unique nature, I looked to many party sites for ideas. Maybe a TolkienHobbitLord of the Rings theme? The WGH loves these books and I thought maybe guests could dress up as their favorite characters. Brian nixed the idea and rightly.

So, I thought of other ideas: a big tent with lots of lighting to play games all day and well into the night. Cakes from Carl shaped and decorated like some of our favorite games: Dungeons and Dragons, Settlers of Catan, Munchkin, Mansions of Madness, and (of course) Cards Against Humanity. Perhaps gyros for lunch (see above, re: Parthenon on our wedding night), and a pig-roast for supper.

Yes, I want a few elegant touches such as some Silver/25th Anniversary balloons and decorations. I really wanted Jordan almonds at our wedding, but they weren’t in the budget; so I’ll probably have them as party favors. For overall theme, however, I’m drawn more to Think Geek than Party City or even Oriental Trading Company.

When the WGH and I married in 1991, I looked through tons of invitation books and again thought they were all crap. Thank the Gods that I have graphic arts skills, so I designed our wedding invites and RSVPs. Now I’ll probably have to do the same with our Silver Anniversary Party.

In the meantime, have a fun and safe Independence Day this weekend; and if you want an invite to the Curley Silver Anniversary Party in 2016, e-mail me with your contact info: lorianncurley at gmail dot com.

Pog ma thoin!
-Lori

Me: “Are you as happy as I am?”
WGH: “I don’t know; I’m not married to me.”

One thought on “Party Planning

  1. Pingback: Lori’s Year In Review: 2015 | delazan

Leave a comment